Swaziland independence from Britain started in 1968.

Here are 10 top facts to know about its independence.

  1. Swaziland is the smallest country in the Southern hemisphere and the smallest monarchy.
  2. Mswati III is the current king of Swaziland. He has 15 wives and he has ruled since 1986.
  3. The country is named after Mswati II, king from 1840-1868. He extended the area of the country through victories and tribal wars.
  4. More than 25 per cent of people are infected with AIDS. Umchwasho is a rite that prohibited teenage women from having sex. King Mswati III imposed it in 2001.
  5. The king fined himself with a cow when he broke his own law by marrying a 17-year-old girl.
  6. The king’s mother is known as the Great She-Elephant. The king rules the country together with her. 
  7. The rules of succession to the throne of Swaziland does not allow any left-handed prince to become king.
  8. The Queen Mother is chosen from the late king’s wives. She must have only one son. The king must have no full brothers.
  9. If children make eye contact with adults in Swaziland, they are considered rude.
  10. Princesses are the only women is Swaziland allowed to wear clothes that show their thighs.